Grumpy Gus Ginger Ale & Bitter LemonDear readers of LovesGingerAle, I have a confession to make. I have a weakness for fancy grocery stores. Some women love shoes, others love jewelry. I love fresh organic kale and artisanal olive oil. And of course, free samples of fancy cheese.

On my way home from a job interview and while the lovely compatriot cooked us dinner at home, I stopped by our local fancy grocery store to get some essentials : coffee, toilet paper, and Red Bull.

The fancy grocery store is small and packed tightly with goods, and the toilet paper was on a very high shelf. I am quite short. “C’mon my little munchkin!” the compatriot will sometimes say to hurry me along.

With no store personnel in sight and my blood sugar running low, I dashed over to the kitchen supply section, picked up a sturdy spatula, and used it to tip a four-pack down into my waiting arms.

That dramatic moment passed, I stepped into line and I could not help but notice an array of Gus Grown Up sodas. I bought one ginger ale and one bitter lemon* (the lovely compatriot’s favorite).

The label says “not too sweet,” and they’re not fooling. This is a minimally sweet ginger ale. No fruit, that I could taste. No bits whatsoever. No real bite either.

We appreciated the earthy, “hot” ginger taste, as opposed to the sweet pickled ginger flavor favored by Bruce Cost. “The flavor profile is good, it just tastes watered down.” I felt like I was drinking a medium-strong ginger ale mixed with an equal part club soda. The bitter lemon was the same: a good flavor in there, if you can get past all the water that stands between it and your taste buds.

Price: $1.69. Not too bad a price, fancy grocery store!

Overall: 6.5 out of 10

It could be good, but as is tastes diluted. Does being an adult mean that your sensory experience must be  adulterated? Are grown-ups too old to handle real flavor? LovesGingerAle says no!

*To clarify, the lovely compatriot adds that he doesn’t love bitter lemon generally, but rather, “the real, strong Schweppes. Not this weak American crap.”

